Alumni in Government

UNC Charlotte is proud of our alumni representing North Carolina and thankful for their service.

If you are an alumna or alumnus serving in public office, we want to know. Please contact Betty Doster, special assistant to the Chancellor for External Relations and Partnerships.

Sen. Ted Alexander (R)
B.A., Political Science | 1982
Rep. Dean Arp (R)
M.S., Civil Engineering | 1999
Rep. Mary Belk (D)
B.A., Political Science | 2006
Rep. Cecil Brockman (D)
B.A., Political Science | 2006
Rep. Terry Brown (D)
B.A., Political Science | 2009
Judge Jeff Carpenter (R)
B.A., Political Science | 1994
Seat 7, NC Court of Appeals
n. David W. Craven, Jr. (R)
B.A., Political Science; B.S., Business Administration and Accounting | 2012
Randolph, Guilford
County Commission Chair George Dunlap (D)
B.S., Criminal Justice and MPA | 1991, 2003
Mecklenburg, District 3
Judge Fred Gore (R)
B.S., Business Administration and Marketing | 1998
Seat 5, NC Court of Appeals
Rep. Kelly Hastings (R)
Teaching Certificate | 2009
Congressman Richard Hudson (R)
B.A., History | 1996
District 8
Rep. Jake Johnson (R)
B.A., Political Science | 2016
Henderson, Polk, Transylvania
Sheriff Joey Lemons
B.A., History | 2010
Sen. Mujtaba Mohammed (D)
B.A., History | 2008
Marjorie Molina (D)
M.S., Management | 2022
Charlotte City Council
County Commissioner Susan Rodriguez-McDowell (D)
B.A., Fine Arts | 1989
Mecklenburg, District 6
Rep. Jason Saine (R)
B.A., Political Science | 1995